Home  |  Contact Us  |  Site Map       En Espanol
Upcoming Meetings
Floyd County Tax Commissioner



The County Tax Commissioner is an office established by the Constitution and elected in all counties (except one). The official's responsibility is receiving tax returns filed by taxpayers or designating the Board of Assessors to receive them; receiving and processing applications for Homestead Exemptions or designating the Board of Assessors to receive and process them; serving as agent of the State Revenue Commissioner for the registration of motor vehicles; and performing all functions related to billing, collecting, disbursing, and accounting for ad valorem taxes collected in Floyd County.


Tax bills will be mailed on August 15 and payment is due on November 15. Interest and penalties begin to accumulate on November 16. Checks should be made payable to: Floyd County Tax Commissioner and mailed to:


Floyd County Tax Commissioner
P.O. Box 26
Rome, Georgia 30162


Or taxes may be paid in person at the Floyd County Historic Courthouse. There is a drop box in the parking lot. Credit cards are accepted.

NOTE: Tax bills will NOT be mailed to your mortgage company. It is the home owner’s responsibility to forward the tax bill to their mortgage company in the manner prescribed by your individual mortgage company.



Kevin Payne, Tax Commissioner
Lynn Little, Chief Deputy

Historic Floyd County Courthouse
4 Government Plaza
Rome, GA 30161

Phone: 706-291-5148
Fax: 706-233-0033