Home  |  Contact Us  |  Site Map       En Espanol
Upcoming Meetings
Chairman Irwin Bagwell

Post 3
200 Bagwell Rd
Cave Spring, GA 30124





Irwin BagwellA life-long resident of Floyd County, Irwin was a 1980 honor graduate  of Darlington School and earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Georgia in 1984. Susan White Bagwell, his wife of twenty-seven years, is a kindergarten teacher with the Floyd County School System. Irwin, Susan, and sons John and Will are members of Lindale First Baptist Church.

Irwin is a fifth generation farmer. He and his brother specialize in row crop production, growing corn and soybeans on their Vanns Valley farms.

Irwin is a member of the Georgia Agribusiness Council and a number of agricultural trade organizations on the local, state and national level. He is a member of the Georgia Agricultural Commodity Commission for Soybeans. He was elected to serve on the Floyd-Polk County USDA Farm Service Administration Committee from 1989 thru 2007. From 1995 until 1998, he served on the citizen committee of the original Unified Land Development Code. Irwin served on the Rome-Floyd Planning Commission from 2002 through 2007. While serving as vice chairman of the Commission in 2007, he chaired the Rome-Floyd Comprehensive Plan Update committee.

Commissioner Bagwell serves as the 2014 Chairman of the Floyd County Board of Commissioners. He serves as Chairman of the Floyd County Public Safety Committee.  Chairman Bagwell also represents the Board of Commissioners on the Rome-Floyd County Development Authority, Rome-Floyd County Fire Overview Committee, Rome-Floyd County Joint Services Committee, SPLOST Project Overview Committee, and the Rome-Floyd Transportation Policy Committee. He is past chair of the Rome-Floyd Solid Waste Commission and the Rome-Floyd Development Overview Committee.


Chairman Bagwell also is a member of the Association County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG) Policy Committee and the Revenue & Finance Committee.